Constitution of the Committee of Honour

Monday 25th February saw the holding in the Palau de la Generalitat of the ceremony for the constitution of the Committee of Honour of the commission for the commemoration of the 150th anniversary of Antoni Gaudí's birth.

The keynote speech was given by Mr. Daniel Giralt-Miracle, General Curator of the Gaudí International Year. He was followed by the writer Joan Perucho, the director of the Science Museum of "la Caixa" Foundation Jorge Wagensberg, the architect Òscar Tusquets and the composer Joan Guinjoan.

The event included the performance of Trencadís, a symphonic suite from the ballet of the opera Gaudí, and a brief piece in the carillon of the palace.

The final speeches, on behalf of the institutions, were given by Mrs. Áurea María Roldán Martín, General Director of Co-operation and Cultural Communications of the Ministry of Education, Culture and Sports, Mr. Joan Clos, Mayor of Barcelona, and Mr. Jordi Pujol, President of the Autonomous Government of Catalonia.


Source: Ediciones STJ (22-1-02)